silence – is deafening

Silence is the latest film from Martin Scorsese. It’s directed by Scorsese and written by Jay Cocks and Scorsese, based on the novel of the same name by Shuskau Endo. The film stars Andrew Garfield, Adam Drive, Liam Neeson, Tadanobu Asano and Ciaran Hinds. The film is about 17th century priests who travel to Japan from Portugal to locate their missing mentor and spread Catholicism.

The good; the images are amazing. Silence takes place in Japan but it’s all shot in Taiwan. The camera lens manages to capture breathtaking images in the landscapes. With a story revolving around a higher being and a greater purpose it illustrates wonderfully man’s role in the grand scheme of things.
I can not praise the locations and grandeur of the wide shots.

Next up is the acting. Everyone in this film gives it their all. The inner struggle as cultures clash over religious beliefs is very well communicated through acting.

The cinematography with the acting is only accentuated with the sound design and score. There’s a wonderful sense of loneliness and danger with these priests being in a foreign land.

The bad; for this being a long time passion project for Scorsese (he’d been working on it for 26 years)… I was expecting more. I’m aware that this is all on me, but it’s Scorsese!
The ending felt too predictable, there’s a turning point in the third act and then voice overs take over… it feels too rushed.

Overall, I enjoyed it. But it’s a rough movie that I don’t think I need to see again. It received a nomination for Best Cinematography, which is totally deserved. The story is based on real life events, but I’m not sure how much of this story is factual. The film sat with me for a week because I didn’t know quite what I thought. Silence definitely does transport you to another time, for that I’m grateful.

Fade out-
Eugene

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

