the leftovers – should’ve been left behind…

The Leftovers is a tv series on HBO about a “rapture” that happened and how the people that are left behind deal with this event.

This series is created by Damon Lindelof, already a red flag for me. But I decided to give it a go, it’s very well done, everyone in the cast does their best.

But when the credits rolled, I wasn’t invested, I didn’t want to watch the next episode at all. The problem here is that there’s a great premise, but it’s lost (pun intended) when we don’t have any answered questions. I realize that this is the pilot/first episode of the series, so you’re not going to tell me if those disappeared people were raptured in to heaven, but tell me why those people in white don’t talk? why do they dress in white? What’s up with the dogs? Ya know… simple questions.

Ultimately the pilot episode poses a lot of questions, but I don’t care for the questions that are being asked. In an attempt to be the new Lost, it fails.

Fade out-
Eugene

 

Leave a Reply

