r.i.p. casey kasem

We said goodbye to Casey Kasem at the beginning of this week. He passed away on June 15, 2014 due to complications of Lewy body dementia. Ironically, it was Father’s Day.

His voice will always be a part of my childhood, not only as the host of American Top 40, but he voiced a number of characters for cartoons I watched.

Cartoons such as Scooby-Doo, he was Shaggy

Robin from Super friends

Cliffjumper, Bluestreak and Teletran One from Transformers

His voice will always be synonymous with the cartoons and the radio that I grew up on, I can’t imagine his voice not being a part of my childhood, so much so that I never thought, “Hey, that’s the same guy,” his voice never screamed out announcing himself as Casey Kasem, he simply was just there… and his voice was a tool which he made work for whatever occasion, for that I am grateful.

Count us down Casey…

Thank you sir.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

