safety not guaranteed – a good time is though

Safety Not Guaranteed is about an ad in a news paper that attracts the attention of a magazine.  The magazine sends some people to investigate the ad, which requests a companion for a time travel expedition. Simple enough right?

The good; I love time travel.  The characters are very deep.  Aubrey Plaza plays Darius, who’s very relate-able at least to me she is.  I enjoyed her transition from melancholy disinterest to actually finding something to believe and hope in.  The movie is pretty straight forward, but what kept me engaged were the characters.

Mark Duplass plays Calloway, the one who placed the ad, and he manages to balance insane with endearing.  Knowing him previously from The League I was impressed with his acting muscle here.

The bad; the trailer is misleading.  The ending, that we all saw coming – but welcomed it, isn’t at all the way that the trailer depicts.  I was actually expecting more from this movie because of the trailer, while the movie as a whole is cute, my expectations were built up.  I only have myself to blame.

Overall, I enjoyed this small indy movie.  It’s a simple story with complex characters.  Also, one of my favorite parts involves crying on a go-cart, I probably enjoyed the crying more than the go-carting.  Hopefully you’ve managed to catch this movie on Netflix, cause it’s there to stream.

Fade out-
Eugene

Leave a Reply

