stand up guys – some assistance required

I got around to seeing Stand Up Guys.  The short of it is about aged mob/crime men getting together after Val (Pacino) gets out of prison and is greeted by his old partner, Doc (Christopher Walken).  There’s not much else to this movie, just some great actors delivering.

The good; the moment I saw this trailer I knew this was a movie for me.  It’s about older guys, who in their prime were kickin’ ass and takin’ names.  But now time has caught up with them, or gotten away, depending on your views.  So they try to relive their glory.  The chemistry between Pacino, Walken and Arkin is great, these are all actors I love, and then to have them together in this film is a delight.

They shot some scene in Los Angeles!  Amazing, I miss having Los Angeles as their location.  The movie is slower paced, which works for the characters’ age.

The bad; no one’s going to see this, and it being released in February doesn’t help either.

I can’t really think of anything else to put here, just because I really enjoyed seeing all those actors on screen together.  The story is simple, nothing particularly new here, but executed well with this cast.

Overall, I don’t think this is a movie for everyone, but it definitely was for me.  And I got to see it in an empty theatre, I wish that would happen to me more often.

PS. look at the movie poster, wonderful throw back.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

