silver linings playbook – awesome time, got me hooked

I saw Silver Linings Playbook with Richard, Lani and Kimi this weekend. It’s about Bradley Cooper who suffers from a mental breakdown, and he’s trying to get back to normal life. He finds solace in Jennifer Lawrence as she too is going through something similar, but also different. The film is based on the novel of the same name.

The good; it had me right away. I was both confused, intrigued and empathic to the characters as they were introduced. You get Cooper, Chris Tucker, Robert DeNiro, Jennifer Lawrence and a lot of other great actors. The acting is great, you really feel connected to these characters and their performances.

Even though I don’t know anyone that’s been in a mental institution, I can imagine. So Cooper’s need to return to his old life is very relate-able, and when he butts heads with his mom and dad, you understand the point of view of his parents, so that makes the conflict all the more real and meaningful. Well done, well done.

The bad; I felt that Jennifer Lawrence’s character’s… “dilemma” was a little bit convenient. *POSSIBLE SPOILER* She’s was basically fired because she slept with everyone in her work place *END POSSIBLE SPOILER*

I can’t say that there’s too much more to add to this section.

Overall, I really enjoyed the Silver Linings Playbook. The soundtrack is great, the acting is great, the script is well written. Granted the reveal at the end makes everything seem contrived… but… BUT! you get that wonderful dance number. Those who have seen it know what’s I’m talkings abouts.

I think this would be my choice for best picture this year.

6 comments

  1. It may not pack the punch of O. Russell’s previous-work, but taking in mind the different tones and audiences; I think this will be the one I always stop to watch on television while I’m channel surfing on the weekends. Good review.

Leave a Reply

