robocop

http://enewsi.com/movies/190-23326.html

New images of the reboot of “Robocop” have hit the net… I wish I could unsee these, and I hate being right.

Robocop hit the theatres in 1987, and it became one of my favorite movies.  It’s sci-fi, ultra violent, satirical, funny, action packed, emotional, pre-cgi, solid, fun and an all around good movie.
When they announced that they were going to do a new version I had immediately made up my mind and opinion that it was going to be crap and will be unable to hold a candle to the original Verhoeven masterpiece.  I so wanted to be wrong.. but I was not.  I haven’t heard anything good about this new rendition.

These pictures tell me that they’ve purged everything that made the original film a classic.  Robocop’s suit/body is not iconic.  It looks like Batman forgot his cap and then went to Tron: Legacy and borrowed a helmet.  It looks like a skeletal rendering of a CG film in progress and they made it 3D.
ED-209 should shoot whatever studio executive decided to give this “look” the green light.  Did they even watch the original film?

What made the original costume great was that it was inspired by anime and when they constructed it they made it look real, as if the technology at the time could build this cyborg.  It looked solid and bullet proof.  I bet this new Robocop can run, so sad…

Now on to the car… what made the Ford Taurus perfect for a cop in Ole’ Detroit was that the car wasn’t finished.  It had one coat of paint, no hub caps and looked like a factory just pumped them out.  They had a worn in look that reflected the decaying society of Detroit.  And the fact that Robocop used a standard issue squad car made him one of the guys.  Now he’s got this suped up hot rod of a police car, and if all the other cops are using this car… they’ve missed the whole point as well.

I might be in the minority on this, but I thoroughly enjoy the sequel, Robocop 2, and I would gladly take Robocop 3 over this new version any day.  And yes, in the third movie you can see the actor’s real feet in the Robocop suit.

We already have horrid movies of eighties things that I grew up with; Transformers, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, Transformers: Dark of the Moon, G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra, Total Recall…
What’s next?  A Back to the Future reboot?  Short Circuit?  Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (in which they are aliens??)…

Will the new millennia please stop pooping on my child hood?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zbCbwP6ibR4

Leave a Reply

