the weekend of 26th-march + paul

This weekend was filled with stuff, up to the brim.  Saturday I went to church, saw the usual people there, then hung out with Karina and the kids, brought some posters for them.  Then I met up with Michael in Balboa Park, traded some comics for DVDs and talked about the happenings of late.  So much going on, I hope I can be a part of it.  Then spent the rest of the afternoon with Gonzalo, thanks for the birthday present, wish I could’ve been able to receive it sooner.

In the evening we then went to Outback Steak House for my late birthday dinner with my family, boy was it cold when the sun went down.

Sunday I got to see Paul with Damielle, Allan, Moses and Chris.  Chris are you reading this?  even though you saw this movie with me, don’t know if you’ll want to see it again.  Wish I was able to spend more time with you guys, but some time is better than no time.

Anyway, so Paul is about two UK Comic Book Geeks (Pegg and Frost) who attend the San Diego Comic Con and make a whole trip out of it.  They plan to see the alien “hot spots” in America.  Along the way they run in to Paul, an alien, and some other characters who are chasing one of these guys for some reason or another, and whacky-ness ensues.  The film is directed by Greg Mottola who previous did Adventureland and Superbad, plus some TV stuff.  And it’s written by Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, who you may previous know from Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz.

The good; it’s Pegg and Frost, together again.  I love these guys as a duo, they’re just great.  They also filmed stuff at Comic Con, it’s been a part of my summer since I was able to go, so seeing San Diego in a movie is always nice, just like Anchorman.  The gags and jokes are great, too, they reference a lot from Spielberg, like Close Encounters of the Third Kind (Five Tones and Devil’s Tower), E.T. and even a Raiders of the Lost Ark reference, it’s awesome.  Paul also claims to be the one that came up with the Fox Mulder character, hahaha.  So many geek/fanboy moments it’s great.  The humor is poking fun at the sci-fi geeks, but at the same time there’s the love for the sci-fi geeks.

The bad; I really felt that the pacing could’ve been sped up, maybe this is an editing thing, or maybe it’s a story telling thing?  I can’t quite put my finger on it.  And then there’s the other characters that round out the cast, while their purpose is clear, Jason Bateman’s character is a bit too convenient for my tastes.  His character reversal is very typical, and could’ve been missed in all the laughter from the jokes.  Maybe a little more of his story early on?

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, it knew it’s audience and delivered.  I felt like I was the only one in the theatre who got all the Spielberg alien movie references, but from the laughter, you didn’t need to know them all.  So avoid this movie if you don’t like good things that are layered that require you to be knowledgeable about other films.   I’m glad I saw this one in the theatre, and saw it with my good friends.

Leave a Reply

