14-feb-2011 + cedar rapids

Last night I dreamt that I was in walmart or costco.  Some large retail store.  And they have this aisle dedicated to GiJoes, but it’s all owned by some guy who just wants to display his collection to the shoppers.  The set up looks it belongs in a comic con or something, not a retail store.  The shelf that it’s on looks like those metal ones found at costco, one thing in particular that catches my eye is a large blackbird, done like the X-Men’s blackbird, except, you guessed it, Gijoes occupy the inside.  And there are new vehicles that were featured in the toy fair coverage this weekend.  Then I run in to Bob, he’s saved me some stuff, but I don’t feel like talking to him.  I’m more interested in the display, checking out the old and new products that are displayed.  Some employees that look more like exhibitors come harassing me, saying I’m disturbing the display, touching things that shouldn’t be touched.  I argue with them that it’s priced, so why shouldn’t I touch it?  Then I wake up.

What a busy weekend, I drove to San Diego with David Saturday morning, went to church, then visited Karina and the kids.  After that I showed Syd and David Balboa Park and Horton Plaza.  Sunday was Dennis and Rose’s wedding, another full weekend in San Diego.

Last week I got to see Cedar Rapids with Jessica.  It’s about Ed Helms, who’s a little naive and innocent to the ways of the world, the term “man-child” comes to mind, and he works for an insurance agency.  Stephen Root then sends him to the big insurance convention, Helms is the fish out of water.  Throw in Anne Heche, John C. Reilly and stir things up while all these insurance salesmen and women “party” it up in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

The good; Helms plays Tim Lippe very well.  His optimist outlook on life is both sincere as well as humorous.  With the help of the other cast members, Lippe’s initiation in to the real world is both a welcomed journey, as well as a comical one with tender moments thrown in.  Heche and Reilly play jaded characters that walk the line between unlikeable and welcoming.  The casting is great for these characters because we empathize with them and their less optimistic view on the job as well as life.  Then to round out the main characters we have Isiah Whitlock Jr who plays Ronald Wilkes.  Wilkes is inbetween Lippe and the other two characters, which is wonderful.  Whitlock has amazing comedic timing.  The story is what really drives this movies, it’s a coming of age story, but it happens to a middle-aged man.

The bad; no promotion for this movie AT ALL.  Come on, you got Fox Searchlight, which is usually the best part of Fox’s films, and there’s no marketing?  I can’t really complain about the movie itself.

The short of it, go see this movie, you’ll say, “I’ve heard nothing about it,” but that’s the best part.  I went in to this movie cold and loved it.

Then I finished Wally West’s tenure as The Flash, as well as Geoff Johns tenure as writer.  What a complete story.  The Flash: Rogue War is where it ends.  Wally takes back his secret identity from the public, Linda has a miscarriage, Barry makes an appearance, a new Professor Zoom is introduced, and the Rogues are ever present.  For not knowing anything of the atmosphere of The Flash, I completely enjoyed what I’ve been reading.  And it kind of makes me sad that they brought Barry back as the scarlet speedster.  Unlike Green Lantern’s progression, I felt the Flash progressed in the proper way.  Bart should’ve been allowed to be the fastest man alive a little longer.  This run of Johns on the Flash seems as much of a story with Hunter Zolomon as he turns in to the Reverse Flash as it is Wally’s story.  But it seems like everyone wants to just push a reset button on the timeline, like Marvel.

Leave a Reply

