gulliver’s travels

I saw Gulliver’s Travels for lunch.  In glorious 3D.  It’s a new take on the classic tale, but with Jack Black, so I guess that’s the new take.  Someone from our world gets caught in a storm and goes to the land Lilliput where the people are small, but good builders.

The good; it’s Jack Black.  The 3D wasn’t too bad, you could actually see in to the ocean, I like that.  There’s a subplot with Jason Segels’ character which is nice, it’s kind of a backwards version of Cyrano de Bergerac.  Jack Black plays the witless slacker that finds himself at the adoration of thousands of little pretty well, maybe he’s not acting… haha.  Oh and the Empire Strikes Back/Titanic scene is great.

The bad; it’s Jack Black, I know I put him in both categories, but you either love him or you hate him, there’s no middle ground on this one.

Not much more to report on this one, you’ll either enjoy Jack Black being himself or not.  I found myself enjoying this movie a lot, but I didn’t pay for it.  So yeah.

Leave a Reply

