Day: October 12, 2010

10/12/2010 + cemetery junction + waiting for ‘superman’

Last night i dreamt we were on the road.  Getting one of our vehicles ready, packing and gassing it up.  It’s day time and I can’t remember much else.  Then I’m at work, but the office arrangement is all backwards.  The shipping computer is outside the row of cubes and the co-workers are also not arranged how they are now.  Some idiot makes fun of me for not knowing where the computer was, like instinct I just yell back, “shut up.”  I would normally not say anything.

Last week I caught a cold, I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to drive down to SD for Zandry and Anna’s wedding.  But luckily I took Thursday and Friday off, rested and drank a whole carton of OJ.  Then I sat my anti bodies down and gave them a talking to… it could be that my dad brought some foreign bacteria from the philippines when I picked him up from LAX.

Congratulations to the newly weds, Mr. and Mrs. Hidalgo.

Last week I saw two movies.

Cemetery Junction.  Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant reunion in entertainment.  It’s about three guys whole are coming of age and they are thinking of what to make of themselves in their time as men.  The boys live in Cemetery Junction, a town in England and they want more, more fun, more stories, and more money.  One of them goes to work for an insurance company, one has a dad whose a drunk, and the other is the underdog, he works at the train station.

The good; it’s very relate-able, from moment one.  The guys are great, they remind me of my high school friends.  There’s a scene at a company party where the third guy sings.  It’s one of those moments where the crowd roots for the underdog, it really works.  Then a love story is interwoven nicely.

The bad; the marketing, I hardly heard about this movie.  Why?

In short, it’s good having Gervais and Merchant back together.  Gervais tried it out on his own and that wasn’t as well as we all had hoped.  And it’s also nice to see him doing something else, I mean there’s comedy, but the drama is the more important player in Cemetery Junction.  Highly recommended.

Then I saw Waiting for Superman with Rob, Emily, and Melody.  It’s the latest documentary from Davis Guggenheim.  Who previously did An Inconvenient Truth.  Waiting for Superman is about the American Education system, and how the American youth has taken a dive compared to the other countries.

The good; it’s very educational, I learned a lot.  There are so many things that you don’t know about the education system… so many things…  It follows several kids and their struggles with education, not that they’re slow in learning, but that they aren’t properly nurtured in school to achieve their goals.  It’s very frustrating to see what they go through.

The bad; I know really have any complaints.

In short.  Go see this, I smell oscar nom, am I saying this prematurely?  We’ll see.

Happy birthday to my brother Elbert