10/05/2010 + catfish

Last night I dreamt that I was in Matthew’s house.  Damielle, Caleb and other kids were playing outside.  I’m in the garage, taking off my slippers to come inside.  While inside, it now feels like a school display.  Almost like a science fair, but not quite.  There’s George and he’s got a tri-fold display board, instead of his photography, there’s planes.  Concept planes and stuff.  A large white styrofoam plane is jutting out.  Reminds me of when we toured the Boeing plant.

My prayers are with the Banaag Family during this period of loss.

Saw Catfish over the weekend with Gonzalo.  It’s about a guy in New York who meets this artist on line through Facebook.  He then gets to know the girl’s mom and the girl’s sister.  On a trip to Denver or something, the guy and his friend decide to go to Michigan to meet the girl’s sister.  And things aren’t what they seem to be.

The good; well done, I mean it.  It’s a documentary about which I know little to nothing of/about?  And we’re able to be captured by this quest to find the girl’s sister and meet her.  It almost seems like something out of Dateline NBC at first, but it quickly becomes more than that.  I don’t want to give any spoilers, but the movie was made simply and well. This isn’t a production with all the bells and whistles and slickness of a standard film.  But out curiosity is enticed and we’re taken in directions that we never saw coming.  Well done.

The bad; there’s one moment… one moment at the end where the whole thing is summed up.  That was the only moment that I felt this whole thing was faked, and it’s another Blair Witch type of movie.  Just one moment… so I don’t know.  And I don’t want to say what that moment is because it’ll spoil things.

Overall, worth checking out.  There’s laughs, sadness, apprehension and boy is there tension.  A little movie that will probably be overlooked by most.

Leave a Reply

